InAVation Awards 2017: A guide to entry, voting and attendance

InAVation Awards 2017: A guide to entry, voting and attendance
With deadlines for entries into the InAVation Awards powered by ISE creeping up we take a look at what we can expect from the 2017 event.

The InAVation Awards will return to its home at Amsterdam’s iconic Gashouder venue in the Netherlands and on its usual date, on the first evening of the ISE show. (February 7, 2017).

Once again the awards will bring together every link in the chain of the professional AV industry. AV manufacturers, consultants, distributors, integrators and the users of technology will enjoy unrivalled networking in a relaxed, fun environment during ISE and away from the show floor.

The focus will be on celebrating excellence across a range of disciplines. The headline project awards will pinpoint the very best examples of AV integration across the EMEA region. Furthermore, the International Project award will return to make sure we highlight exceptional work beyond those geographic borders. Consultants, project managers and distributors can also get involved with dedicated gongs up for grabs.

In order to effectively highlight the best examples of technology innovation, organisers have made changes to the Technology Awards this year with a firm focus on solutions. Once again the judging process will include an element of voting so everyone has a chance to register their opinion.

With deadlines looming anyone who wants to take advantage of this free and internationally renowned awards scheme should act now and enter. The following pages provide a guide to the categories on offer. 

You can also still take advantage of discounted early booking rates and secure your seat or table now by downloading a InAVation Awards 2017 EarlyBird Reservation Form and returning to us by December 1, 2016. With no hidden costs for food and drink, a ticket to the event will offer unlimited access to pre-dinner canapes, drinks and entertainment; seated three-course meal and wine during the awards ceremony and drinks after for anyone that wants to carry on the party. 

Deadlines: Technology entry shuts: October 23, 2016 | Project entry shuts: November 6, 2016

Project Awards: Download Project Entry Guidelines 2017

Deadline: November 6, 2016

Project Manager/Consultant of the Year
Consultants or project managers can be nominated for the Consultant or Project Manager of the Year award either within a project entry or as a separate nomination. 

Enter online now at

Technology Awards
A guide to this year’s technology categories.
In 2017 the InAVation Awards will respond to the increasingly diverse AV market by overhauling how AV technologies are entered and judged in the InAVation Awards.
The change will recognise that it is becoming harder to easily categorise the ever expanding range of technology and software that is available to integrators and that many systems on the market are being rapidly developed to handle a wider range of functions. To truly recognise innovation and brilliance in this sector we believe that it is no longer appropriate to ask manufacturers to enter products, systems and software into a manageable number of product focused technology categories.

We are therefore moving the technology awards format to a solutions based approach. Technologies can be entered into a number of categories that have been selected to highlight important sectors for the industry and key areas for recent product innovation. 

The entry process will also change. Entrants will need to write statements to convince a panel of judges (formed of integrators, consultants, technology managers and users as well as media partners of the event) what their technology adds to a particular application, task or environment.

A single product can be entered into multiple categories but the entry statement must change to demonstrate its suitability for the category.

This shift demonstrates that the judging panel is less interested in the specifications of a particular technology, instead placing more emphasis on the benefits it brings to designers, integrators, managers and users of AV systems.

The new categories are:
Technology for Collaboration and Conferencing
Technology for Content Management
Technology for Control and Management
Technology for Control Rooms
Technology for Digital Signage
Technology for Small Group Presentation (under 20 people)
Technology for Large Group Presentation (over 20 people)
Technology for Leisure
Technology for Live Events and Rental
Technology for Safety and Security 
Technology for Signal Distribution 
Technology for Smart Buildings
Technology for System Design

Distributor of the Year
The Distributor of the Year Award will recognise the overall service and support provided to resellers in the professional AV installation market, taking into account product focus and choice, availability and distribution services, pre- and post-sales support, market development assistance and online capabilities.

Read judges tips and enter online now at

Deadline: October 23, 2016

2017 InAVation Awards sponsors logos

Most Viewed