Everything you need to know ahead of the 2022 Inavation Awards

The 2021 Inavation Awards may still be fresh in our minds but there’s no time to waste as we dive straight into the run up to 2022. All categories open to entries on September 1 and, as usual, there are a few changes.

Project Awards

The Project Awards search out and reward the most outstanding examples of AV integration skill.

Project work can be entered into a range of vertical categories listed below.

Projects must have been completed between October 1, 2020 and October 1, 2021.

A project is never about a single technology and therefore manufacturers cannot win project awards, with the exception of the new Applied Technology category. We encourage manufacturers who are proud of their involvement in a project to work with their integration partners to celebrate and reward their efforts on bringing the whole project to life.

The categories:

Control Room
Government or Public Sector
House of Worship
Leisure and Entertainment
Live Event
Visitor Attraction

Entry is free

Applied Technology - New category!

This category has been introduced for 2022 to recognise the contribution of a technology from a single manufacturer into a project. Over the years we’ve seen plenty of projects  - from projection mapping, to vast LED installations and PA/VA installations (to name but a few) – where a single manufacturer has made a significant contribution to a project. We can now recognise those achievements with the Applied Technology Award. AV technology manufacturers can enter projects carried out in any vertical market and, should they become a winner or finalist, will be credited for their contribution. Projects can also be entered twice; an integrator focused entry looking at the entire project can be entered into the vertical market categories (listed above), while the contribution of one specific technology can be focused on in an Applied Technology entry.

Entry fee: £300

Project categories open September 1, 2021 and close November 1, 2021


Professional Awards

Our professional categories encompass Business Awards for any company working within the professional AV sector; and People Awards for AV industry professionals.

Business Awards look at specific aspects of a company that are vital to success. This year we’re sharpening our focus by slimming the categories down to just four of the most popular from the past two years.

Companies can enter the categories listed below. Entries must detail initiatives launched or developed between October 1, 2020 and October 1, 2021.

The categories:

Best Place to Work
Best R&D
Business Growth Award
Sustainability Award

Business Categories open for entry September 1, 2021 and close October 17, 2021.

Entry is free

People Awards are the only Inavation Awards that honour individual, rather than company, contribution and are Consultant/Project Manager of the Year and Outstanding Contribution to AV. There are no shortlists published for People Awards and third-party nominations or self-entries are both permitted.

Consultants and project managers can be nominated as part of a project entry if their contribution is highlighted separately and clearly within the entry.

The Outstanding Contribution to AV recognises individuals who have positively changed the AV industry.

People categories open for entry September 1, 2021 and close November 1, 2021

Entry is free.


Technology Awards

The Technology Awards are back and remain a great way to get outstanding technology developments in front of not just the readership of Inavate and the Inavation Awards global media partners, but also ISE visitors and end users in a variety of roles including IT, facilities management and events.

The process starts with finalists selected by a panel of judges formed from media partners, consultants, integrators and technical end users. The shortlists are then put to a public vote where those casting votes are verified and weighted. Votes from specifiers and buyers of AV technology score higher than vendor’s votes, with end users delivering the maximum number of points. Total scores are coupled with judges’ scores to crown winners.

Dividing such a diverse range of technologies into a set of manageable categories is necessarily blunt and of course each category will contain products that are hard to compare to one another. But when technology professionals head online to vote, they will read pitches from each shortlisted manufacturer on why their technology should win. This enables products to be viewed in detail and the various nuances and strengths of a product that could edge it ahead of the competition can be understood and appreciated. To help shortlisted companies publicise their achievement and encourage votes, all finalists will receive finalist logos and certificates.

This also helps us fulfil another goal: making sure the Inavation Technology Awards introduce new technologies to AV buyers. Over the years we realised that if buyers of AV technology interested in the Inavation Awards process weren’t aware of the technology highlighted, a model number announced on stage meant very little. Ensuring they get a greater depth of information on the shortlisted technologies increases engagement throughout the process and beyond to when they’ll be making decisions of which products will help them fulfil their own projects.

In recognition of the additional administration required to manage the voting process, as well as disseminate more detailed information on each shortlisted product, there is a fee of £300/product to enter the Technology Awards. Despite the fee this is still a competition. There will only be one winner crowned per category; these awards cannot be bought.

Technologies can be entered into the categories listed below. Entries must detail technologies launched or significantly updated between October 1, 2020 and October 1, 2021.

The categories:

Audio (non-loudspeaker)
Communication and collaboration
Display (end point)
Events Technology
Signal distribution and processing
Streaming Technology

Categories open for entry September 1, 2021 and close October 17, 2021

Entry fee: £300

Article Categories

Most Viewed